Some forums are doing unnecessary moderation to Show their forum is active.

May 6, 2009 at 6:20 am 3 comments

Yesterday I asked a question regarding testing iPhone application in a forum http://www.softwaretestingclub.com

But they removed my question saying that the question is vague.

So I replied below mail to them.

Phil,

I understand that my question will gather less attraction towards people for giving answer.
But what is the use of asking questions for which many people are having answer in their mind.

Actually we faced many difficulties for doing testing with iPhone application, as there are very limited stuff in the net.

So even few people are answering this question, I believe the answer will be helpful for many people.

I understand that a question without getting answer will reduce the value of site. But you can hide the question from the home page instead of removing it completely.

Thanks,
Rajamanickam
QualityPoint Technologies.
http://www.qualitypointtech.com


I got below reply for this mail.

I didn’t say that I wanted questions asking that everyone knows the answer to

I was saying that a question such as “I am having problems testing an iPhone application” is too vague to get any useful answer

Be more detailed and specific – WHAT problems are you having, WHAT solutions have you tried and why didn’t they work, what guidance are you looking for ? If people dont know the context and background of your problem then any advice they try and give will not be worth it

yes, Rosie and I try to take a tough line on questions – thats why this site is growing rapidly and why people use it

feel free to message me back

phil

So, I assume that they are removing questions that are having less attraction. If anyone have any similar experience you can share it here.

Anyway, I am strong believer of doing moderation.
For example, yesterday itself I have removed a comment from my blog as the comment was entered purely for marketing purpose.

But removing question for invalid reason is not good. Right?

More Articles…

Entry filed under: Software.

workaround for the mysql issue. Google PageRank

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brent  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    He was right. The statement, “I am having problems testing an iPhone application” is too vague. There’s no possible way that anyone could give you a useful answer without any details of the situation. I’m a member of numerous online forums and I think its pretty much standard procedure to remove (or sometimes just ignore) overly vague questions such as yours.

    Reply
  • 2. John Bender  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    “So, I assume that they are removing questions that are having less attraction. If anyone have any similar experience you can share it here.”

    I don’t agree at all. If you ask a question without giving the other posters on the site some context its up for debate whether your question is valid.

    Reply
  • 3. qualitypoint  |  May 12, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks for your comments.

    I will agree with you if my actual question was exactly same as “I am having problems testing an iPhone application”. But I have given bit more information such as my attempt and failure to use web based iphone simulators.

    In his mail he didn’t mention those things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 26,839 hits

QualityPoint on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


